top of page

My Son Is A Poet Too!

One of the most endearing things about finding my children this year is seeing aspects of myself in each of them even though we have yet to meet. While perusing Gavin's facebook page to learn all that I could about him and his personality, I ran across some musings of his which struck me nearly speechless. I have spent many hours studying the intricacies of molecular genetics and the functioning of nucleotide pairings, both in high school and college, but to witness ineffable traits made manifest from my blood to his gave such knowledge new meaning.

The following are examples of his work having been slightly edited by his father:

UNTITLED (For My Father)

by

Gavin Rayford

I have said a lot but not enough. There are still

so many hearts I have not touched. I will reach you, eventually. Just listen to me. I make this up not as I go. I preach this from within my soul.

HIBERNATION

by

Gavin Rayford

Why have you given up on me?

I never did anything.

I guess that’s why you have given up on me

—‘cause I never did anything.

I just waste my time, that’s all.

It’s all I’ve ever done &

It seems that patience with me

has run short…like a life to a gun.

I see why…

You have given up on me,

Since I’ve never done anything.

But I’m young, restless &

in dire need of sleep.

So for now I must hibernate.

I can barely do the things I could once do,

years ago.

But I’m weathered, tired. Guess

I’ll sleep for a year or so.

So go ahead girl, give up on me.

Time will pass you by anyway.

But before you leave, please tuck

me in tightly, then you can walk

away. Walk away.

HEARTBEAT

by

Gavin Rayford

My heart beats consistently like a metronome. She lays her head on my chest and says she loves this song. She hums it, every note. I told her, “for you, this is the song, I wrote.” A private show, meant only for you. A bottle of wine and candles for a party of two. Even intoxicated it plays for you. Never skipping beat, I'll hold you close to my heart till you fall asleep. As you rise up from your slumber, eyes bloodshot from

the hangover. You hum your song over and over. Every note-- you never missed

a beat. This is how I know you’re always thinking of me.

USELESS

by

Gavin Rayford

I know that you don’t care, I know; I know it all. I barely care for myself. I know that you know as well. So with this being said, I must go. To a place of which you’ll never know. Therefore, I will be missing--

missing from you--

your heart, and this place. A new day began, I watched it start from 12 a.m. Insomnia motivated me to watch the rain fall. The darkness is still on duty. But the sun will switch shifts with it soon. While I was thinking about you and your heart,. I realized you may be intact but not the same. Your heart was so wonderful and loving. But you told your heart to share nothing with me. 5 a.m. and still thinking of you. I thought I had escaped you by now. Unfortunately you’re the only subject,

to entertain a lonely me. You are the worst

entertainer. I wish my thoughts were somewhere else. The sun finally shows its face, and illuminates to let us all know the day has just begun. I have watched it all happen. Time, and time again. The rain continues to fall,

interfering with my day. Getting way too acquainted with my home. Even alone I’m not alone.

It goes without saying that I am proud of my son, and even more that he is a chip off the old block! I told him time and again to just keep writing and that he and I would sort things out once we are together. I certainly hope that he has heeded my advice because I am his biggest fan!

Get your copy of my book, Moments of Cosmic Timing: Love Letters to My Children to read all about my sojourn into finding my twins this year.

For more in-depth biblical commentaries, purchase my books HERE You may reach me by email at Jerome.Strong@gmail.com Follow me on twitter @RevJeromeStrong.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page